Hearst Castle’s main building, where Hearst entertained guests. Prior to 1929, for nearly 10 years, Morgan and Hearst simply referred to it as the “big house” or the “main building”.Browse Casa Grande Correspondence
Facing due west towards the Pacific Ocean sunset, Casa del Sol (“House of the Sun”), was one of 3 residential buildings that forms a semi-circle around Casa Grande.Browse Casa del Sol Correspondence
Comprised of 10 rooms, Casa del Monte (“House of the Mountain”) commands a view of the Santa Lucia mountain range.Browse Casa del Monte Correspondence
During construction, Hearst identified Casa del Mar as his residence on the hilltop. This “House of the Sea” boasts a splendid view of the Pacific Ocean coastline.Browse Casa del Mar Correspondence
Soon after becoming the first woman licensed as an architect, Julia Morgan opened her San Francisco office in 1904 and launched a prolific career in architecture. She first worked for Hearst in 1910, and began designing Hearst Castle in 1919.
News media tycoon, and heir to the sprawling coastal property near San Simeon, California, William Randolph Hearst commissioned what he called “La Cuesta Encantada” (now known as Hearst Castle) in 1919, and remained closely involved in its design and construction until construction ceased in 1947.